About Us

CUPE 229 is a local of the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE), Canada’s largest union with over 700,000 members across the country. CUPE represents workers in health care, emergency services, education, early learning and child care, municipalities, trades, social services, libraries, utilities, transportation, airlines and more. We have more than 70 offices across the country, in every province.


Who We Represent

CUPE 229 represents workers in the following job classification at Queen’s University.

Trades Helper
Maintenance Mechanic
Elevator Mechanic
Engineer 3rd Class

Athletics Assistant
Athletics Attendant
Parking By-Law Officer
Booth Attendant

Caretaking Attendant
Laundry Attendant
Food Service Workers (Aramark)

Who We Are

As a strong and democratic union, CUPE is committed to improving the quality of life for workers in Canada. Women and men working together to form local unions built CUPE. They did so to have a stronger voice – a collective voice – in their workplace and in society as a whole.

Health care and municipal workers constitute CUPE’s two largest sectors. CUPE is also the dominant support staff union in the education sector representing junior kindergarten to grade 12.

What We Do

CUPE advocates for workers who deliver the public services people depend on. Our members work in hospitals, schools, municipalities and many other public spaces.

We help our members provide the highest level of service by ensuring they are safe and healthy at work, and that they get fair pay and benefits for the services they provide.

We also advocate for better public services, like improvements to public health care and to the Canada Pension Plan, that would improve our communities and the lives of all Canadians.

© Copyright 2023 CUPE Local 229